I Shouldn’t Be Here

I Shouldn’t Be Here

The imposter complex or feelings of being a fraud in a leadership role apparently occurs in the minds of many female leaders. Studies have shown that women prefer to know their chances of success before making a decision and stepping into a role.  In fact when it comes to applying for a job, most women tend to go for positions in which they meet nearly all of the requirements, while men reach for ones in which they meet about half.  While we may know we are technically competent and have good intentions, sometimes when we look at where we are, we can feel like we don’t belong.

I love my new role working as a project manager at Disney and I want to do great things. I want to understand the culture and how things work so I can make an impact and make it better.  I read about forward thinking leadership and empowering your team to extraordinary performance.  I need to change my mindset from I want to be an inspirational leader to I am an inspirational leader!  I truly am an inspirational leader, I have been told that before.  From the teams that I have led and even my colleagues.  At times I feel as if I am not ready, but other times I feel like I could do so much more.  At Disney, for me, it is more than just climbing the corporate ladder, although I would like to move to a prominent position.  At Disney, my ultimate goal is to be a part of something great, to create amazing experiences, help people make extraordinary memories, and create happiness.

So while the negativity may creep in and make me feel like I shouldn’t be here, I look around and know that through my drive, creativity, and passion I need to be here!

Leave a Reply

