Business Etiquette Workshop

Business Etiquette Workshop

I am honored to say that I have been selected to be a speaker at the 2016 Society of Women Engineers Conference, WE16.  This is a fantastic opportunity!  I get to network, share my knowledge and experiences, as well as get pumped up about being a technical leader!  This conference has been very well organized with over 9,000 attendees from across the world.  The topic that I was selected to present is called “Etiquette for the Modern Engineer”.  After years of attending technical conferences and giving others advice on what to expect at business social events, I decided to put together a workshop on business etiquette geared towards technical people.  For nearly 10 years, I have been delivering and maturing this presentation and now I have the prestigious opportunity to present my latest product at this conference!

During the presentation, I highlight ways to make a great first impression and tips on networking at business social events.  I present statistics, sort information into tables, and developed technical drawings to help deliver the information to highly analytical technical professionals.  The information is developed based on my own experiences as well as from reputable resources such as Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands by Terri Morrison and Wayne A. Conaway, Etiquette Edge by Beverly Y. Langford, Creating Magic by Lee Cockerell, and information from the Emily Post Institute.

I have delivered versions of this presentation before to audiences ranging from a dozen to a couple hundred technical professionals and it has been well received.  I look forward to presenting the latest version at the conference in October 2016 and hope to continue delivering workshops that make a positive impact on people’s careers!

Leave a Reply

